My old school appoints ex head coach of Paul Roos as director of rugby.

Forum » Rugby » My old school appoints ex head coach of Paul Roos as director of rugby.

Apr 11, 2021, 15:52

It's good news...Paul Roos beat Grey Bloem when he was coach.

Maybe he can put us back to where we used to be and maybe I will attend games.

Introducing the Director of Rugby, Mr Hein Kriek

Dear Old Collegians,

Many of you will by now know that Hein Kriek was recently appointed as Director of Rugby at College. We are very fortunate to have such an illustrious rugby man on our campus in this position, as this brief C/V will confirm.

Hein is a schoolmaster by profession, a Life Sciences teacher to be precise, and a successful rugby coach, but has more recently had roles as a rugby Director. He is very well educated man, holding a B.Sc in Human Movement  Science and Hons degree in Sports Science both from Potchefstroom University, and then among other qualifications, an MSc in Sports Directorship from Salford University Business School in the UK. Hein also has a host of certificates in many sports disciplines, especially rugby, including World Rugby Level 3 and USA Rugby Level 400 coaching certificates. He has attended many of the very top level rugby courses all over world, including IRANZ.

Hein also has an impressive rugby coaching background, including posts as forward coach and technical adviser to Hamilton’s Sea Point RFC, who became National Club Champs under his watch, Western Province High Schools Craven Week coach, and two years as South African Schools coach. He was 1st XV coach and Head of Coaching at Paul Roos when they were ranked 2 in SA beating Grey Bloem, and were SANIX World Youth Champions, before leaving to take up a professional coaching role at Currie Cup rugby level at the Pumas as forwards and defence coach. He was thereafter forwards and defence coach in Europe at the Czech Rugby Union and then most recently employed by Rugby Nederland.